Pride of Anglia - Ipswich Town Football Club

since 1878

Match Preview: Ipswich Town v Birmingham City

Sky Bet Championship at Portman Road Saturday April 1, 2017 kick-off 15:00

Head to Head

  Home Away
Comp P W D L F A P W D L F A
FA Cup210111210133
League Cup210123300338
Played Won Drawn Lost For Against
79 34 16 29 115 101
  43% 20% 37% 53% 47%

Last six matches

  Date Venue Result Competition Attendance Goal Scorers
 1/4/2017H1-1Sky Bet Championship16667Grant Ward (1) 
 13/12/2016A1-2Sky Bet Championship15212Adam Webster (1) 
 23/1/2016A0-3Sky Bet Championship18272 
 18/9/2015H1-1Sky Bet Championship18973Brett Pitman (1) 
 24/2/2015H4-2Sky Bet Championship17161Freddie Sears (2)  Kevin Bru (1)  Tyrone Mings (1) 
 19/8/2014A2-2Sky Bet Championship14022Christophe Berra (2) 

 For details of all previous meetings between the two clubs click here.

Last meeting at Portman Road

IPSWICH TOWN 1 Birmingham City 1

Sky Bet Championship Saturday April 1, 2017

Ipswich Town 1 Birmingham City 1

Ipswich Town made it nine draws in 12 games as they hit back to deny Birmingham the win at Portman Road.

Jonathan Grounds fired into the roof of the net to put Blues ahead after Bartosz Bialkowski saved Lukas Jutkiewicz's initial shot.

Jutkiewicz almost doubled the lead when put through by Craig Gardner's reverse pass, but Bialkowski saved well.

Town's equaliser had a touch of good fortune when Grant Ward's overhit cross flew over Tomasz Kuszczak into the net.

Freddie Sears should have opened the scoring for Town, who are winless in eight matches, but fired straight at the legs of Kuszczak, and then had a goal ruled out for offside.

But Birmingham, who have won just twice in 20 matches since Gianfranco Zola took over as manager, created chances to secure their fifth away win of the season.

David Davis was inches away from connecting with Jutkiewicz's low cross before Bialkowski made a fine save to keep out David McGoldrick's header towards his own goal.

Ipswich substitute Kevin Bru went close late on to what would have been only a second win in 13 matches, but his curling shot was narrowly wide.

The Tractor Boys' fifth successive home draw keeps them 17th, a place above Birmingham on goal difference, with both sides six points above the relegation zone.

Ipswich manager Mick McCarthy: "I don't want to be involved in a relegation fight. We've got to get enough points and stay in the league.

"I thought the first half was a Championship scrap that we probably shaded, but we lost all our momentum for giving a poor goal away.

"Bartosz Bialkowski kept us in it and we weren't playing well. It was a horrible atmosphere and we got away with a wonder-strike, or a lucky cross, to get a point."

Birmingham manager Gianfranco Zola told BBC WM: "We looked like we were cruising. We scored a goal and I didn't see them scoring because we were defending very well.

"We had a couple of great chances, but we didn't convert. It is a pity because probably we deserved a little bit more.

"They [the players] fought very hard today - a lot of players have run a lot - so it will be important to recover quickly."

BBC Sport

Leading Scorers v Birmingham City

Alan Brazil8
John Wark6
Paul Mariner6
Ray Crawford6
Trevor Whymark5
Mick Lambert4
Bryan Hamilton3
Christophe Berra3
Ted Phillips3

Best Attendances

  Attendance Date Competition
Home 29025 11/4/1977 Division 1
Away 40709 5/2/1972 FA Cup 4th Round

Players with connections to both Ipswich Town and Birmingham City

Aaron McLean (2012-13)
Alex Bruce (2006-11)
Ambrose Mulraney (1936-46)
Andrew Legg (1997-98)
Andros Townsend (2010-11)
Bilel Mohsni (2012-13)
Chris Swailes (1986-98)
Chris Wood (2014-15)
Cody Cropper (2010-12)
Danny Sonner (1996-99)
Darren Ambrose (1995-16)
David Geddis (1974-80)
David Stockdale (2011-12)
Devann Yao (2009-10)
DJ Campbell (2012-13)
Emyr Huws (2016-current)
Frederick Barber (1995-96)
Guirane NDaw (2012-13)
Ian Atkins (1985-88)
Ingi Hojsted (2005-06)
J Southam (1945-46)
Jack Collison (2014-15)
Jack Hick (1939-46)
Jackie Brown (1948-51)
Jamie Clapham (1997-03)
John Linford (1980-83)
Jonathan Hunt (1998-99)
Jordan Spence (2016-current)
Keith Bertschin (1973-77)
Lee Bowyer (2011-12)
Leroy Lita (2014-15)
Louie Donowa (1989-90)
Marcus Bent (2001-04)
Mark Burchill (2000-01)
Matthew Upson (1993-94)
Nicky Forster (2005-07)
Nigel Gleghorn (1985-88)
Njazi Kuqi (2006-07)
Paul Cooper (1973-87)
Rostyn Griffiths (2002-03)
Sam Westley (2013-14)
Sean Ellis (2009-10)
Stern John (2009-10)
Steve McGavin (1984-88)
Steve Whitton (1990-94)
Toby Osman (2006-07)
Tom Adeyemi
Tom Fillingham (1938-40)
Tommy Carroll (1966-72)
Trevor Tearney (1997-98)
Willie Havenga (1951-53)

Total Execution Time: 0.68 seconds